Week 1 – New semester & New topic

Hi everyone,

This blog will be used as a tool to explore and document my progress on my project. Every week, I will be updating this blog to reflect my work as I explore this area and gain new insight and ideas.

To start off, I will be establishing a goal and rough timeline for the project.

Goal for the Project

My goal for this project is to create an art installation around the topic of bird for the Internet of Things lab.

2015-07-29 12.42.34 2015-07-29 12.42.23

This laboratory has two large glass windows at the front which are able to be used to place sensors through and also has a large amount of wall space.

Project Timeline

The timeline for the project is seen below in a table.

Week Goals for the week What was accomplished?
1 During this week, my goals were to

· Attend an induction into J block to gain access to 3D printers and laser cutters

·Meet the Level 9 people

·Test out the PIR sensors to gain an understanding of how this works

· Test out the Neopixels see which colour is the brightest

·         Test out the sound boards

·         Draw some rough sketches for ideas of birds

·  Attended an induction into J block to gain access to 3D printers and laser cutters

·I met the Level 9 people

·Tested out the PIR sensors to gain an understanding of how they works

·Tested out the Neopixels

·I also completed some rough sketches for ideas of the actual birds

2 · ·
3 · ·
4 · ·
5 – 21st of August1st Milestone · A few designs will be attempted

· Some testing has occurred with the design

· An Aduino prototype or an attempt at a prototype has been created.

·  This prototype would include the various parts of the bird. This prototype may not be fully working but it will include some form of motion detector and sound player. They may not be working together at this stage but they should be used or attempted.·

·
6 · ·
7 · ·
8 · ·
9- 18th of September2nd Milestone ·         A working prototype involving the Arduino placed in a basic bird shape or design

·         Either working or fairly close to; to be shown off for feedback

·         Journal check in

·
10 · ·
11 · ·
12 · ·
13- 25th of October3rd Milestone ·         A full prototype that is working and set up in the lab

·         A full journal documenting the progress from week 1; with an entry every 2 weeks. This will be both online and in a physical form.

·

I have left gaps in some areas as at the start of each week, I will take time to see the goals for the week and then place them into the table.

Goals for Week 1

During this week, my goals were to

·         Attend an induction into J block to gain access to 3D printers and laser cutters

·         Meet the Level 9 people

·         Test out the PIR sensors to gain an understanding of how this works

·         Test out the Neopixels see which colour is the brightest

·         Test out the sound boards

·         Draw some rough sketches for ideas of birds

I completed most of these goals. The only goal I have yet to complete are the testings of the sound boards and the other motion sensors.  I have simply moved these goals to the week after. The reasons for this was that I had a lot of success with the PIR motion sensor working and felt that I would try and focus on it to learn more about it. The sensors also arrived late, and I did not make it back into the lab where they were delivered before the next week.

Reflection and results of goals

I think this week went well as while I did not accomplish as much as I had set out to complete, I did still complete a fair amount of work.

  • PIR sensor exploration- I created a basic circuit involving it, where I was able to receive when it detected motion. I was also able to create to create a circuit when the PIR sensor detected motion, an LED would flash. I felt that this was a good starting place, as while it is not a Neopixel  I understand how this works.

2015-07-24 11.58.38

2015-07-24 11.19.532015-07-24 11.52.48

  • Neopixel – I tested a couple of different neopixels for shadow brightness and color light reflection. I found that white gave off the brighter shadow but Red was a much brighter light. I would like to as my next experiment hook up a line of white and red neopixels then compare one another on the wall space to test for shadows. I could also mix the two together to see the effect.
  • Sketches-Some rough sketches are seen below, I have tried to create some different looks with the images below. I wanted to focus on a basic shape in this case a kookaburra to create a shadow effect. The other option which can be explored is putting the Neopixels behind the shape and showing the light through the acrylic shape. The images below show how the shadows and the colours might work to create the shape. I also mucked around in Illustrator to create a rough outline of the kookaburra.

2015-07-26 23.21.192015-07-26 23.21.49

Kookaburra

Interesting resources

This is going to be a small list of resources each week that I have utilized to either expand my knowledge or found interesting.

Leave a Reply

