Day 7 – Travel

On this day, I just wanted a rest day and a day to take things nice and slow.

20151115_123739

So while everyone decided that they wanted to visit the tar pits, I decided that I wanted to explore the local area I am staying in. The night before I had discovered that there was a local yarn store; so I decided to have a nice easy morning and then eventually walk down to the area. I also wanted to explore the Grove area and the farmers markets. This area provided a great chance for a leisurely walk and a great chance to experience Los Angeles culture.

20151115_125139

My first stop was the yarn store. As one of my hobbies is crochet, I had always wanted to visit a yarn store in Los Angeles just to see what it was like. I also wanted to engage with the local artists and talk about what was happening in their city. This yarn store provided a great opportunity for this conversation. I managed to get know quite a few locals and have some fantastic discussions including things like what to expect for Thanksgiving. The yarn store was also a great place to find out about local yarn and artists. I really enjoyed my time there and felt that I got a lot out of it. It was a very cozy and warm space, I also felt that this helped a lot in provoking these discussions.

20151115_14360820151115_144935

My next stop was a casual walk through the farmers market to see how busy it was on the weekend. I really enjoyed this walk and felt that it was a great chance to gain an understanding on what Americans do on the weekend. This was really interesting and provided a fantastic way to eat at some great places. After that I went back to the hotel and rested for the night.

 

Leave a Reply

