Day 12 – Travel

Today was the first day of the CTN animation expo. The expo was very different from what I had imagined. Today was very chaotic and it didn’t seem as organized as a lot of the other conventions I had attended in the past. Many of the volunteers had little to no idea where things were; which lead to a very interesting guessing game. This made it quite difficult to attend panels and find artists.

20151120_173325

The quality of work was absolutely amazing, the range of styles and different mediums was really interesting. I really enjoyed seeing all the different interactions that took place. This was also a great place to attend a load of workshops on a range of topics; which I traditionally would not get to experience. The workshops which I attended today focused on drawing the male and female body, the cinematography of concept art and a conversation about the process of creating Disney’s latest film, ‘Zootopia’. This was a lot of fun and provided a great chance to get a sneak peek at some exclusive content and also gain an insight into how they did this project.

20151120_184458.jpg

The drawing studio was also a nice touch allowing a great place just to relax and work out the next event to attend. I also really enjoyed how many artists that were there. It was a great chance to see how pieces and characters can be stylized. In the future, if I was to attend this event again; I would spend a month preparing to get a higher quality portfolio and the ability to be a little more confident in my work. I still feel I have only scratched the surface with what I can learn in this area and the expo has taught me that I still have a very long way to go.

 

Leave a Reply

